Tennis Scotland 2022 Award Nominations Now Open

Tennis Scotland 2022 Awards - Nominations Now Open

Launch Date: 1 October 2022
Closing Date: 31 January 2022

Nominations have opened for the Tennis Scotland Awards. The awards present an excellent opportunity to recognise the achievements, work and dedication of individuals, clubs, teams, tournaments and programmes throughout Scotland.

How to nominate: Vote link on LTA website

The Tennis Scotland Awards will be spread across 17 different categories with the winners of 12 of these being put forward to the LTA Awards. The voting criteria can be viewed here.

Tennis Scotland CEO Blane Dodds is urging people involved in the sport throughout the country to get their nominations in as soon as possible. “There is so much currently happening in our sport and this is a great way of showcasing the fantastic work undertaken by our tennis community across Scotland, as well as sharing good practice in different areas of the sport.”

Tennis Scotland 2022 Award Categories

  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Young Person of the Year
  • Coach of the Year Development
  • Coach of the Year Performance
  • Club of the Year
  • Community Award
  • Education Award
  • Disability Award
  • Competition of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • LTA President Award

The winners of the above awards will automatically be put forward for the LTA Awards.

  • International Player of the Year
  • Junior Player of the year
  • Senior Veteran Player of the Year
  • Senior Player of the Year
  • Team of the Year

Winners will be announced in 2022, along with the announcements for any Special Awards.

Previous Award Winners

2021 Winners (achievements 2020) 2021 Winners (achievements 2020) addremove

Tennis Scotland Awards 2021 Winners

  • Lifetime Achievement – Jan Collins
  • Volunteer of the Year – Amanda Barclay (West End LTC)
  • Young Person of the Year – Katie McKay (Wormit & Newport TC)
  • Coach of the Year: Development – Steven Birrell (Wormit & Newport TC)
  • Coach of the Year: Performance – Mark Openshaw (Giffnock Tennis Squash and Hockey Club)
  • Club of the Year – Giffnock Tennis Squash and Hockey Club
  • Education Award: University – The University of Edinburgh
  • Disability Award – Chrysalis Tennis
  • Official of the Year – Olwyn Roy
  • Competition of the Year – Western Health and Racquets Club: Club Championships 2020
  • Junior Player of the Year – Ben Hudson
  • Senior Player of the Year – Hamish Stewart
  • International Player of the Year – Gordon Reid
  • Special Recognition – John Frame
  • Special Recognition – John Stevenson
  • Special Recognition – Rick Gardner

2020 Winners (achievements 2019) 2020 Winners (achievements 2019) addremove

Tennis Scotland Awards 2020 Winners

  • Lifetime Achievement - Yvonne Birnie
  • Volunteer - Bryan Leslie
  • Coach - Derek Brown
  • Club - Prestwick Tennis and Fitness
  • Community - Meadows Tennis Park
  • Official - Richard Gardner
  • Education - Glasgow City Council Fraser Gilmore
  • Disability - Prestwick Tennis and Fitness Disability Programme
  • Competition - East Lothian Open
  • Team - 12U Boys North County Cup Team
  • Junior Player - Mathew Rankin
  • Senior Player - Marjory Love
  • International Player - Maia Lumsden

2019 Winners (achievements 2018) 2019 Winners (achievements 2018) addremove

Tennis Scotland Awards Winners 2019

  • Lifetime Achievement - Hamish Mcbain
  • Volunteer - Ian Miller
  • Coach - Alan Russell
  • Club - Aboyne LTC                                                                                        
  • Community - Fairfield Community Sports Hub
  • Official of the year - Teresa Tait                                                               
  • Disability Programme Accessible Tennis Education - Lauder Primary School
  • Young Person - Alix Christie                                                                         
  • Competition of the year - Glasgow Trophy                                                      
  • Team of the Year - Stirling Women’s 1st Team    
  • Junior player of the year - Jacob Fearnley
  • Senior player - Eilidh Smith                                                                         
  • International Player of the year - Jonny O’Mara